Ebonyi State Ministry of Local Government Affairs is located at State Secretariat Complex, Nnorom, Abakaliki. The Ministry has 73 staff in its payroll. These staff are distributed to serve the office of the Hon. Commissioner, Permanent Secretary and the Departments in the Ministry.

Barr. Samuel Okoronkwo is the political Head of the Ministry. The Ministry has seven (7) functional departments. They are: Administration and Supply Department, Finance and Accounts Department, Rural Development Department, Inspectorate and Monitoring Department, Local Government Matters Department, Planning, Research and Statistics Department and Chieftaincy Matters Department.


The Ministry of Local Government, Chieftaincy Matters and Rural Development is saddled with the provision of supervisory roles to the Local Government Area and Development Centres as well as supervise the activities of the Traditional Institution, monitor development activities through Town Unions and Development Associations. The Ministry equally distributes revenue accruing to Local Government Councils through Ebonyi State Local Government Joint Account Committee (JAC). Indeed, policy formulation is the main thrust of the Ministry in an avid effort to enthrone good governance at the grass root.